Instagram Now Puts a Stop to Cyberbullying

Instagram, ​one of the most popular social media apps in the world, had just allowed users to restrict bullies on the platform. Many times, social media networks with millions of active users become an instrument for trolling and bullying.

The Facebook-owned platform has released the ‘Instagram Caption Warning,’ which is an anti-bullying instrument to be used in case hurtful captions on images or videos appear.

Instagram Caption Warning

The release of the new tool is the latest action taken by Instagram in a series of moves against cyberbullying. The company took these steps in order to address hate speech and abusive behavior, which can be harmful to young users in particular.

If users feel that someone is bullying them with a caption, they have the possibility to tap on a flagged notification that then says, ‘This caption looks similar to others that have been reported.’ Reports claim that Instagram​ is offering users the option to message or share it anyway.

The Caption Warning feature is meant to offer users some protection against bullying and trolling. Using AI that can detect harmful and repulsive content, the social media app tries to address all these types of behavior in order to protect its users.

Moreover, the social media platform will be restricting posts from influencers that promote cosmetic surgery, numerous weight-loss products, and so on, for people under 18. As per Adam Mosseri, the chief of the company, it is their responsibility to provide a safe setting on Instagram.

Restricting CyberBullying

The Caption Warning Functionality has another function: helping the social media platform address cyberbullying. Prior, Instagram​ had incorporated into the app a feature called ‘Restrict,’ which allows users to hinder access for those who bully with abusive content or comments.

“Once ‘Restrict’ is enabled, comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to that person,” ​the company explained when it launched the feature. Users can select the option to view the comment by tapping on ‘See Comment,’ approve it for everyone to see or delete it.

The feature can be enabled from the app’s settings under the ‘Privacy’ section, or it can be accessed from the profile of the person you want to restrict.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *